Deady AD

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

James S. Deady

2500 Broadway
Houston TX, 77012
Ph#(713)845 7411
Fax# (713)845-5645

Principal
Darlene Blasco


 

About US

About Us

Deady Middle School is located in the historic Harrisburg community and has been educating this community's children for over 80 years. Deady is home to the HISD Communication Arts Magnet Middle School with currently over 300 students enrolled in the program. Deady offers a wide range of programs and activities, geared towards students’ talents and interests.

 

Attendance

Student Release Policy

Please be sure to have a valid PICTURE ID with you when picking up your child early from school.  Children will ONLY be released to authorized persons who have a valid PICTURE  ID.

Registration for 2009-2010

Parents/guardians wishing to enroll children must bring:

Last report card

Birth certificate

Immunization records

Social security card

Valid picture ID for parent/guardian

Students are enrolled daily.  Parents/guardians will sign in at the foyer and will be directed to the attendance office to enroll.

 

NEW

School Hours

New School hours

Monday- Friday 8:15am-3:50pm

 

History

History

On November 3, 1927, dignitaries met at the Milby cafeteria. The occasion marked the beginning of one thing and the end of another. Taking stock of the moment one finds the following: The assets of the Harrisburg Independent School District were turned over to the Houston Independent School District. As part of the deal a new junior high school would be built. That school was to be named James S. Deady Junior High.

History of Deady Middle School

The history of Deady Junior High is very much about the history of Harrisburg and the changes that occurred as Houston grew and inevitably incorporated the area. Here are the facts:

James S. Deady was Harrisburg’s first and only mayor. He served as President of the Harrisburg School Board. Before that he served as Justice of the Peace and was known for his sense of justice for all people regardless of race, color or creed. 

He was so highly loved and respected that when the time came to name the new school, James S. Deady was given the honor. Most new district schools were named after famousleaders who were already deceased. But in this case, Mr. Deady had given so much and fought so hard for the people of Harrisburg and for the schools, there was no question that he deserved this honor.

 “Other schools were named after warriors, colonizers, statesmen, educators, etc., in this instance; we sought to recognize the worth of an average dedicated citizen.”

Searcey  Bracewell, prominent Houston attorney and founder of the powerful Bracewell & Giuliani Law Firm, quoted his father, J. S. Bracewell, who was the attorney  handling the Harrisburg/Houston District merger in 1927: 

“Other schools were named after warriors, colonizers, statesmen, educators, etc., in this instance; we sought to recognize the worth of an average, dedicated citizen.”

For all his tireless effort, it might be surprising to know that James S. Deady was severely handicapped most of his life. Despite his physical frailty and the difficulty of getting about, he worked unselfishly for the people of Harrisburg, many times without compensation, to make sure children received a good education. On January 28, 1929, James S. Deady Junior High opened its doors with 326 students and 14 teachers. The school has stood for almost 80 years, at this writing, as a tribute to a man who cared about children. Here, at Deady Middle School, his legacy resides.

 

Dress Code

STUDENT DRESS CODE
2009-2010

[English] [Spanish]

The following student dress code includes, but is not limited to, the acceptable daily dress of students enrolled at Deady Middle School.  The appropriateness of dress code items NOT expressly included or addressed in this document will be determined by the principal or her designee on a case by case basis. This dress code is a working document and is subject at any time to change as deemed appropriate or necessary by the principal with input from the Shared Decision-Making Committee (SDMC).

Shirts

Only properly-fitted polos and t-shirts (official Deady logo OR plain) are permitted in the following colors:  6th grade—hunter green, 7th grade—light gray, 8th grade—royal blue. Polos or t-shirts must be solid color—no stripes, logos, designs or screen prints on shirt. Undershirts or turtle necks may be worn under appropriate color polo or t-shirts but must be tucked inside pants (undershirts cannot be visible below the polo or t-shirt). School-sponsored and spirit t-shirts and polos are allowed any day of the week; however, PE t-shirts are not allowed to be worn in class at any time. No gang-related attire.

Pants

Khaki or black pants must be sized to fit (no baggy pants, no tight-fitting pants) and worn at the waist.Pants cannot be torn or ragged. Shorts and capris may be worn as long as they are knee length or longer. Blue jean days will be approved by the administration as student incentives.  Students are not to wear blue jeans on Fridays unless permission is granted by administration prior to Friday.

Skirts

Khaki or black only—must meet or extend beyond the knee.

Shoes

Only sneakers or other closed-toe shoes are permitted (no sandals, clogs, slip-ons, flip flops, open-toe shoes, sling-backs or house shoes).

Sweaters/Jackets

Jackets and sweaters must not be deemed gang-related by administration.  Jackets and sweaters need to be sized appropriately for safety reasons. Hoodies must be full-zip style and may be worn; however, hoods are not allowed to be worn on the head while inside the school building.

Hats/Hair

Hats and all head coverings, including scarves, skull caps, rags, bandanas, etc., must be removed while inside the school building(s). Any hair styles which interfere with instruction or are considered gang-related by the administration are not allowed.

Jewelry/Accessories

Jewelry and all other accessories, including visible tattoos, piercings (except ears) and other markings, which interfere with instruction or are considered gang- related, unsafe or inappropriate by the administration are not allowed.                       

Note:

  • Blue jean pants (except as approved by administration for student incentive), skorts, parachute pants, spandex, athletic wear, overalls, and baggy pants are not allowed. Baggy pants will be addressed by the administration through the use of tie-wraps or twine to secure pants at waist level.
  • All polos and t-shirts (boys and girls) may be worn outside if fitted appropriately.  Oversized shirts must be tucked inside of pants.

Backpacks must be clear or mesh. Backpacks not meeting this standard will be confiscated and must be reclaimed by a parent from the homeroom teacher or grade level administrator.

 

Schedule

Deady Middle School

Bell Schedule 2009-10

Teacher duty period – 8:15 – 8:45 am

Schedule for (Mon. Wed. Fri.)

 

 

6th Grade

 

7th Grade

 

8th Grade

 

1A/1B

 

8:50 – 10:20

 

8:50 – 10:20

 

8:50 – 10:20

 

2A/2B

ADA 10:50 am

10:25 – 11:15
Lunch
11:20 – 11:55
2nd cont.
12:00--12:40

 

10:25 – 11:55

 

10:25 – 11:55

 

3A/3B

 

12:45 – 2:15

12:00 – 12:10
Lunch
12:15 – 12:50
3rd cont.
12:55– 2:15

12:00 – 12:55
Lunch
1:00 – 1:35
3rd cont.
1:40—2:15

 

4A/4B

 

2:20 – 3:50

 

2:20 – 3:50

 

2:20 – 3:50

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Schedule for Tuesday/Thursday Bell Schedule (with Advocacy)

 

 

6th grade

 

7th grade

 

8th grade

 

1A/1B

 

 

8:50 -10:10

 

8:50 -10:10

 

8:50 -10:10

 

2A/2B

ADA 10:50 am

 

10:15 – 11:15
Lunch
11:20 – 11:55
2nd cont.
12:00 – 12:15

 

10:15 – 11:35

 

10:15 – 11:35

 

3A/3B

 

12:20 – 1:40

 

11:40 – 12:00
Lunch
12:05 – 12:40
3rd cont.
12:45 – 1:15

 

11:40 – 12:40
Lunch
12:45 – 1:20
3rd cont.
1:25 – 1:40

 

Advocacy

 

1:45 --2:25

 

1:45 --2:25

 

1:45 --2:25

 

4A/4B

 

2:30 – 3:50

 

2:30 – 3:50

 

2:30 – 3:50

 

Staff

Principal

Blasco, Sherry D         SBLASCO@houstonisd.org

 

Assistant Principals

CuillierJr, Joseph A     JCUILLIE@houstonisd.org
Wilson, Silvia B          SWILSON@houstonisd.org

 

Dean of Instruction

Gaona, Lourdes          LGAONA@houstonisd.org

Special Ed

Keller, Amy A            AKELLER@houstonisd.org

Plant Operator

Quiroga-Castillo, Jesus M       JQUIROGA@houstonisd.org

CET

Vasquez, Aaron          AVASQUE3@houstonisd.org

Magnet

Vonder Haar, JoAnn   JVONDER@houstonisd.org

Math Department

6th Grade
Calmo, Consuelo         CCALMO@houstonisd.org
Donovan, Alexander C           ADONOVAN@houstonisd.org
Johnson, Carmen L     CJOHNSO1@houstonisd.org
Reynaga, Valarie A     VREYNAGA@houstonisd.org
7th Grade
Autry, Melissa A         MAUTRY@houstonisd.org
Boateng, Alexander O            ABOATENG@houstonisd.org
Mays, Jonquil B          JMAYS1@houstonisd.org
Washington, Lakeisha P         LWASHIN9@houstonisd.org
8th Grade
Ortiz, Latonia E          LORTIZ4@houstonisd.org
Palmer, Michelle L      MPALMER@houstonisd.org
Rodriguez, Gina I       GRODRIG7@houstonisd.org
Tran, Kelvin Q            KTRAN3@houstonisd.org

T.A.

Alcocer, Jovita        JALCOCER@houstonisd.org
Broussard, Gail M   GBROUSSA@houstonisd.org
Ortega, Mark M       MORTEGA1@houstonisd.org
Gomez, Pedro         PGOMEZ@houstonisd.org


Secretary

Cavazos, Alma        ACAVAZOS@houstonisd.org

Clerks

Cavazos, Tahlia A    TCAVAZOS@houstonisd.org
Hernandez-Roop, Jessica J       JHERNAND@houstonisd.org
Records
Rodriguez, Julieta    JRODRIGU@houstonisd.org
Vergara, Hari           HVERGARA@houstonisd.org
6grade AP Clerk
Cruz, Maria A          MCRUZ8@houstonisd.org
Sp. ED. Ramirez, Rosalinda       RRAMIRE3@houstonisd.org
SRC
Dyal, Mayawattie     MDYAL@houstonisd.org

Dean of Instruction

Gaona, Lourdes      LGAONA@houstonisd.org

Librarian

Mattox, Edna M      EMATTOX@houstonisd.org

Cafeteria Manager

Mike, Alice A           AMIKE@houstonisd.org

Financial Clerk

Ortega, Brigida        BORTEGA@houstonisd.org

Plan Operator

Quiroga-Castillo, Jesus M          JQUIROGA@houstonisd.org
Villasana, Arias Francisco(evening)       AVILLASA@houstonisd.org

NURSE

Randolph, Geralene R    GRANDOLP@houstonisd.org

Attendance Office

Fierro, Santa A        SFIERRO1@houstonisd.org
Reyes, Leticia         LREYES3@houstonisd.org

21Century

Rockett, Sauleen     SROCKETT@houstonisd.org

Counsler

Ross-Moore, Joi     JROSSMOO@houstonisd.org

Tittle One

Tenney, Kendra       KTENNEY@houstonisd.org

Music

Valenzuela, Alejandro    AVALENZ1@houstonisd.org

Social Worker

Vergara, Carlos A    CVERGARA@houstonisd.org

Electives                               

Robotics
Bowden, Craig D     CBOWDEN@houstonisd.org
LCDC
Castillo, Mario P      MCASTI10@houstonisd.org
Band
Chadwick, Robert G RCHADWIC@houstonisd.org
P.E. Coach
Pustejovsky, Pat     PPUSTEJO@houstonisd.org
Frerichs, Matthew W      MFRERICH@houstonisd.org
Lockhart, Marsha D MLOCKHAR@houstonisd.org
Pizarro, Lisa            LPIZARRO@houstonisd.org
Video Production
Lassiter, Stephen U SLASSITE@houstonisd.org
Art
Stark, Crystal A       CSTARK@houstonisd.org
Vonder Haar, JoAnn      JVONDER@houstonisd.org
Year Book
Watson, Brannon K BWATSON@houstonisd.org

Reading

6th
Adkins, Sally M       SADKINS@houstonisd.org
Dyer, James           JDYER@houstonisd.org
Hulbirt, Shelly L       SHULBIRT@houstonisd.org
Jimerson-Curtley, Deloris           DJIMERSO@houstonisd.org
7th
Godinez, Angela      AGODINE1@houstonisd.org
Moxon, Dalia          DMOXON@houstonisd.org
Vonder Haar, Barb   BVONDER@houstonisd.org
Walker, Lauren D     LWALKE11@houstonisd.org
8th
Irizarry, Janet           JIRIZARR@houstonisd.org
Leslie, Charlotte A   CLESLIE@houstonisd.org
Simeone, Margaret A     MSIMEONE@houstonisd.org
Dansby, Jonathan D      JDANSBY@houstonisd.org

Science

6th
Lane, Tara A            TLANE@houstonisd.org
Woodbury, Destiny S    DWOODBUR@houstonisd.org
7th
Dearbonne, Jerry L  JDEARBON@houstonisd.org
Carter, Anne            ACARTER2@houstonisd.org
8th
Stenhouse, Christina M  CSTENHOU@houstonisd.org
Tippett, Rebecca K  RTIPPETT@houstonisd.org
Bucchino, Cathleen A    CBUCCHIN@houstonisd.org

Special Ed

Bondar, Natasha A  NBONDAR@houstonisd.org
Brannon, Dwight C  DBRANNON@houstonisd.org
Daigle, Lisa A         LDAIGLE@houstonisd.org
Dyal, Mayawattie     MDYAL@houstonisd.org
Eboma, Paul           PEBOMA@houstonisd.org
Nwadinobi, Anthonia      ANWADINO@houstonisd.org
Shaw, Gregory W    GSHAW1@houstonisd.org
Zuccone, Dominic E      DZUCCONE@houstonisd.org

Social Studies        

6th Grade
Baldon, Sandra E    SBALDON@houstonisd.org
Sporleder, Erik E     ESPORLED@houstonisd.org
7th Grade
Jung, Sok K            SJUNG@houstonisd.org
Hitzeman, Betty J    BHITZEMA@houstonisd.org
8th Grade
Greenwalt, Thomas  TGREENWA@houstonisd.org
McClain, Charity A   CMCCLAIN@houstonisd.org

 

 

 

 

 

News
Under Construction
Library

Deady Middle School Library

Learning Resource Specialist: Mrs. E. Mattox

Library Hours: 8:30 AM - 4:00PM, M-T-TH & F;  8:30AM-2:00PM - Wed.

  • Students may check out two books at a time for a two week period.

Available Technology:

  • Twenty computer workstations with Internet access and the library catalog.
  • Fully automated with Alexandria software for circulation and catalog use.

Texas Lone Star List :

These books have been recommended by the Texas Library Association for students in grades 6 - 8

Other Available Resources

 

 

8
Calendar
TAKS
Directions

Our physical address is:

2500 Broadway St.
Houston, Texas 77012.  U.S.A.

 


View Larger Map